Back to News


Date: 16 Nov 2017 Author Type: Press Release
Author: Volkswagen South Africa
Source: Volkswagen South Africa
  • 2017 Volkswagen Driver Search hopefuls, Talha Moosajee and Raais Asmal to battle it out for top spot this coming weekend.
  • The winner will earn themselves a spot in the 2018 Volkswagen Motorsport Driver Team.

Top two finalists Thalha Moosajee and Raais Asmal are close to realising their dream of becoming a Volkswagen Motorsport Driver with the last leg of the Driver Search competition wrapping up in Port Elizabeth's Aldo Scribante Racetrack on Saturday, 18 November.

Moosajee and Asmal have had to see out 14 other hopefuls, as well as endure gruelling days of physical tests, psychological evaluations, media lectures and driving tests, in order to make it to the top two. Moosajee, who hails from an off-road racing background, and Asmal, who has done some karting, will both have to showcase all-round skills in a 3-hour Endurance Race this coming weekend, where the winner of the 2017 Volkswagen Driver Search will be decided.

"Now in its second year, the Volkswagen Driver Search competition invests in the youth of South Africa by unearthing raw driving talent as well as grooming and developing drivers of colour," says Mike Rowe, head of Volkswagen Motorsport.

"Both Moosajee and Asmal showed the most talent, skill and determination in the competition and we wish both of them luck with the Endurance Race this coming Saturday," added Rowe.

The winner of the 2017 Volkswagen Driver Search will win a full factory-drive with Volkswagen Motorsport in the Engen Volkswagen Cup, joining the 2016 winner Jonathan Mogotsi.

"The Engen Volkswagen Cup is the most competitive and exciting racing series on the circuit where nearly 20 cars are often separated by less than a second. This is where driver Jonathan Mogotsi developed as a real racing driver in his first year of racing, even claiming a victory in Port Elizabeth in July," concluded Rowe.

This coming weekend the two finalists will share a car, alongside Jonathan Mogotsi in the 3-Hour Endurance Race and the overall winner will be announced at Zwartkops a week later (25 November) at the last race meeting of the year.
iX Online Motoring